Dog Day Anniversary 2015

Junebug sitting up in front of her mom who is sitting on a chair.

It was Dog Day at Guide Dogs for the Blind (GDB) four years ago from today. It was the day my mom and I first met.

I remember the moment if it were yesterday.

It was February 16, 2011. My GDB trainer brought me to meet my mom in her campus dorm room. She handed my leash (which was attached to my collar) over to my mom who then began crying happy tears.

It was the beginning of our partnership.

This is the first photo (and the prelude of a bazillion more) 🙂 taken of the two of us. I am her first guide dog. In this photo I am a few months shy of two years old.

❤ Wags,
Junebug

*Note: Dog Day is a day filled with emotions. It is a special day for any handler. It is the day a guide dog first meets their blind/visually impaired partner. Although the guide dog is fully trained, the first time handler is not. At GDB, the two spend several more weeks at the school in class training together. Generally returning handlers getting a new guide dog spend slightly less time.

Follow Junebug on social media:

Facebook | Instagram

YouTube | Twitter

Leave a Reply

